Eastern Waves: Warszawa-Oslo | News | About | Distribution | Contact


New Music in Eastern Europe Polish Radio Experimental Studio Populista Extras Polish Oldschool Kikazaru Pleasures -... --- .-..- -

see also

Andrzej Bieżan - Polygamy

Release Date: XII 2013
Total Time: 45:58 | 47:18
2CD | 32-page booklet | digipack


1. Archangel's Sword |Andrzej Bieżan (1980)

2. Atmospheres | Andrzej Bieżan, Jacek Malicki (1972)

3. Birds | Andrzej Bieżan, Jacek Malicki (1972)

4. Improvisaton | Intuitive Music Group (1972)


1. Polygamy | Andrzej Bieżan, Krzysztof Knittel (1978-79)

2. I Was and I Was | Andrzej Bieżan (1984)

3. Isn't it? | Andrzej Bieżan (1981-83)

JW Player goes here

In all respects, Andrzej Bieżan (1945-83) was an original and creative composer. His main means of expression were intuitive creation based on general assumptions and well balanced improvisation respecting proportions typical of traditional narrative.

According to Bieżan's approach, music that is written down is "music about music". True creation is only possible in the present moment - neither in the past nor in the future. It is an activity performed in real time. Any reference to the road one has travelled, nostalgia or even technology is an attempt to rescue the past. "Music now" associates with the present; it finds musicians with all their baggage of psychological states brought in from the outside; the earlier obtained knowledge becomes infiltrated by the present moment. Considered by many to be an improvisational purist, Bieżan maintained that submitting to the vibration of given space and time is a basis for playing. Whereas playing itself is searching for what "hides behind music". Scores left by the composer express his desire to arrange the improvised material. They seem to divide the material into segments and hint subsequent passages and development but they remain open. In his instrumental practice as an improviser, Bieżan opposed the concept of trans or "hibernation" in favour of active participation and changeability within the process.

 © Bôłt Records 2013 | www.facebook.com/boltnewmusic | Foundation 4.99 (statute)