Eastern Waves: Warszawa-Oslo | News | About | Distribution | Contact


New Music in Eastern Europe Polish Radio Experimental Studio Populista Extras Polish Oldschool Kikazaru Pleasures -... --- .-..- -

see also

Joanna Halszka Sokołowska: Msza

Release Date: X 2014
Total Time: 34:30
CD | ecopack

1. I Am What I Am

2. A Rose Is A Rose

3. What’s In The Name I

4. Elohim

5. What’s In The Name

6. What’s In The Name II

JW Player goes here

The album is a studio version of a chamber opera prepared by Joanna Halszka Sokołowska at Opera// REMIX at Komuna// Warszawa. The starting point was John Barton Wolgamot’s poem „In Sara Mencken, Christ and Beethoven there were men and women”. The starting point was Robert Ashley’s composition „In Sara Mencken, Christ and Beethoven there were men and women”. The starting point was bringing thousands of people together, everyone equal, nobody playing secondary role.

All organized into sections, every section being a variant of another. The difference is in names, like in the airport, or art world, or Facebook, or disco, or Bible. What brings these people together? What is the new entity they form? What is there between Sara Powell Hardt and Claud Henri de Saint-Simon? Luigi Pirandello and Jane Austen? We take Wolgamot as a soothsayer of Facebook, disco and mass -“ environments of the descension of God. There is Gertruda Stein waiting for him, trusting that everything can be found in names. There is Ludwig van Beethoven completing his „€œmost successful piece”. There is Rainer Maria Rilke translating his „€œNotes on the Melody of Things”. There is a choir laying on the floor and€“ bringing God down. And they are all informed by numerological methods, scientific statistics and cabalistic interpretation of the Tree of Life. And they are all framed by a disco ball.

 © Bôłt Records 2013 | www.facebook.com/boltnewmusic | Foundation 4.99 (statute)